Apple offers a new secure login option to protect the user privacy

Apple offers a new secure login option to protect the user privacy

Apple introduces a new login option that allows users to quickly and anonymously log in to apps and web pages. The feature is called “Sign in with Apple” and in future, in particular, must be integrated with all third-party apps for Apple devices that offer log-in via competitive services.

Apps already available on the App Store need to add “Signing In with Apple” by April next year at the latest, according to Apple’s announcement in an app developer policy customization.

Register comfortably and quickly

The new log-in feature is designed to allow users to conveniently authenticate themselves to Web services using their Apple ID, without disclosing any private information. Other providers of such so-called “single sign-on” options – they make each a new registration with username and e-mail address including password and possibly further information superfluous – are about Google or Facebook and other social networks.

For convenience, auto-log users often spend more private data than they would like or know. Apple wants to protect the privacy of its users by generating a unique random ID for logging in. Although a name and email address are required to log in to a service, if desired, users can create a unique random email address and log in anonymously.

The user is verified via Apple’s Face ID or Touch ID – according to Apple, the integrated two-factor authentication ensures greater security.

Against the data collection

Apple ID authentication will be introduced with the software update to iOS 13 and the launch of the new iPad operating system and can put the competition under pressure. The iPhone maker promises not to create profiles about users or their activity in apps.

The social media giant Facebook, for example, is collecting data diligently even when Facebook users move away from the pages of the social network via a Facebook login to websites and click on content or use an app.

This tracking data, which thereby land on Facebook, will be able to remove users of the social network in the future using the function “Clear History”, as the group announced at the end of last month. However, “Clear History” is initially only in Ireland, Spain and South Korea usable – in the Facebook motherland USA and other countries, the tool will be introduced later, according to the company in the coming months.

SHARE
Previous articleSex, lies and artificial intelligence: Richard Stallman gives up
Next articleAmerican Horror Story Season 9 “1984” returns to the screens: Launch and premiere
Jiya Saini
Jiya Saini is a Journalist and Writer at Revyuh.com. She has been working with us since January 2018. After studying at Jamia Millia University, she is fascinated by smart lifestyle and smart living. She covers technology, games, sports and smart living, as well as good experience in press relations. She is also a freelance trainer for macOS and iOS, and In the past, she has worked with various online news magazines in India and Singapore. Email: jiya (at) revyuh (dot) com

LEAVE A REPLY