6.5 C
New York
Thursday, October 21, 2021

Congress leader Jairam Ramesh reached Supreme Court against citizenship law

Must Read

Chronic Pain: New painkiller technique without side effects and drug addiction

Innovative non-pharmacological pain management practice developed by scientists - This is how the technique works

Experts identify a new drug that can help diabetic patients recover faster after heart attack

A new study by the University of Oxford's researchers has found a drug that may help repair heart function in...

Study says this drink could reduce death risk from chronic liver disease by 49%

Chronic liver disease is also known as the progressive reduction of liver function over a period of...
Kuldeep Singh
Kuldeep is a Journalist and Writer at Revyuh.com. He writes about topics such as Apps, how to, tips and tricks, social network and covers the latest story from the ground. He stands in front of and behind the camera, creates creative product images and much more. Always ready to review new products. Email: kuldeep (at) revyuh (dot) com

Congress leader Jairam Ramesh has moved to the Supreme Court against the Citizenship Amendment Bill 2019 that has been passed in both houses of Parliament. Congress leader Jairam Ramesh has filed a petition in the court against the citizenship law on Friday. They have challenged its validity in court. 

Earlier, President Ram Nath Kovind gave his approval to the Citizenship Bill on Thursday, after which it became a law. According to an official notification, this law has come into force as soon as it is published in the official gazette on Thursday.

According to the citizenship law, members of Hindu, Sikh, Buddhist, Jain, Parsi and Christian communities who have come to India from Pakistan, Bangladesh and Afghanistan as of 31 December 2014 and have suffered religious persecution in their country will not be considered as illegal migrants. , Rather Indian citizenship will be given.

The Citizenship (Amendment) Bill was passed by the Rajya Sabha on Wednesday and the Lok Sabha on Monday. According to the law, refugees from these six communities will be given citizenship of India after staying in India for five years.

According to the law, such refugees will also be excused from lawsuits if they are found to be non-law migrants. As per the law, it will not apply to the tribal areas of Assam, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Tripura, as these areas are included in the Sixth Schedule of the Constitution. In addition, this law will also not be applicable in areas with Inner Line Permit (ILP) notified under the Bengal Eastern Border Regulation, 1873. ILP is applicable in Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland and Mizoram.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -